top of page
  • Writer's pictureLauraOsterman

Jack Fruit Seed Hummus


Monika and Brian have a Jackfruit tree and gladly share with us. I love hummus and make it frequently with garbonzo beans. I came across recipes on the internet that use the jackfruit seeds for hummus so I read a few and combined it with my favorite hummus recipe to create my own. The seeds are very nutritious and I used my instant pot to cook down the seeds so they get soft and make it easier to remove the white layer of skin. I use beef broth instead of water because I think the seeds have an earthy flavor and the beef seems to bring it out more; you can use chicken or vegetable broth or just water. I love to eat hummus with raw red peppers, crackers or homemade bread.


Ingredients

  • 1 pound of jackfruit seeds

  • 3/4 cup tahini

  • 1 clove of garlic (more if you love garlic)

  • 1 teaspoon salt

  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin

  • 1/2 teaspoon smoked paprika

  • 1 to 1-1/2 cups of beef broth (start with 1 then gradually add more if needed depending on desired texture

  • 1 tablespoon Olive Oil plus more for drizzle after mixing

Instructions

  1. Add all ingredients into a food processor and blend for a few minutes until smooth and creamy.

  2. Transfer to a covered dish, drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with cumin and paprika.

  3. Refrigerate for 1-2 hours (will thicken a little when cold)


Video



11 views0 comments
bottom of page